Incredible Huangshan (Yellow Mountains)


IMG_5360

When I was first invited to join some friends to Huangshan, I was thrilled but at the same time I felt apprehensive. It was because I know climbing mountains is tough. And at this age, it can get even tougher. Nevertheless, after Googling into Huangshan, which is said to be the most beautiful of all mountains in China and the inspiration behind those artistic Chinese landscape paintings, I felt encouraged.

My preparation was straightforward. Do more walking and do more climbing. Ampang Jaya walking track around KDE and a little hill by the edge became my regular exercising trail for months.

I think that helped because after 2 hours of hiking to our destination, Beihai Scenic spot, I was tired but not overwhelmed. Thanks to my walking stick. But I guess what really helped were the concrete steps leading to the top. They were proper steps, evenly spaced and wide enough to allow other hikers to pass through should one stop to catch a breadth. Thus I didn’t feel rushed.

IMG_5415 Pines on rocks a common feature of Huangshan

 

IMG_5421

On reaching Beihai, the North Sea area which is about 1630m above sea level, the tour leader briefed us on a subsequent climb, stretching another 8-9 km around the mountains and that was going to take another 4 hrs. I opted out as I was already looking forward to settle my feet.

My more adventurous friends joined the tour. However, 2 decided to turn back after climbing half way because the track was more than tough. Many parts were either very steep uphill or downhill. But for Es, just a few years younger than me, she completed the whole 4 hrs. I admire her courage and determination. She is definitely a gold medal winner!

Honestly, I couldn’t be happier from where we lodged as just 50 metres from our hotel, lies the look-out points for some of China’s most awesome and stunning of mountains. My first impressions were unbelievable. It was a picture of a thousand gazes. I had always loved Chinese brush paintings. I used to paint from pictures and photos but looking at the real landscape now was more than amazing. Impressive.

Like my camera, my own lens were panning from one end of the landscape to the other end, allowing me to take in as much as I could, knowing full well that I will not come up this way again. I felt so lucky to savour all that wonder.

Then from the next look-out point we spotted what was said to be the most famous peak of all Huangshan. Monkey watching the Sea of Clouds Peak. Indeed, on top of that peak lay a large stone that resembles a monkey sitting and looking into the sea of clouds.

 

Monkey Watching Sea of Clouds Peak Monkey Watching Sea of Clouds Peak

 

IMG_5429

Interestingly, all the mountain peaks have characteristic features that resemble animals and thus so named, even dragons, turtles and frogs, fairies and flowers. In all, it sounded like a paradise on the mountains.

Hotel Shilin Entrance Hotel Shilin Entrance
To Beihai look-out point Hotel surroundings

IMG_5638

IMG_5594

IMG_5234

IMG_5650

IMG_5712.JPG

image

Truly, the scenery of towering mountains, with old-bended pine trees protruding from the rocks, and covered by clouds of thick and thin mists, created such artistic beauty. Its no wonder why sceneries like this has inspired artists for centuries. For me, all those beautiful paintings on paper which I have admired for so long, now stand before me. Only one word can describe this feeling. Awesome.

Watch my short clip of Huangshan here

Thank you for reading. My next story will focus on the ancient Xidi and Hongcun Villages, both Unesco Heritage sites in Shexian.

 

4 thoughts on “Incredible Huangshan (Yellow Mountains)

    • Yes most certainly one of my better holidays with friends who are so much fun to be with. We never had a dull moment in the plane, on the bus or walking through the streets. Cheers to my friends!

  1. Wonderful photos & a great write-up. Yes, fantastic views & awesome scenery that will be etched in your memory for a lifetime. Look forward to your write up on the visit to the 2 ancient villages. Keep them coming!

Leave a comment