Amazing walks…pleasant surprises..


 

Daun Kadok

I love my walks. Its more than just agitating those nerves and breathing in fresh morning air.  I get to listen to my favourite podcasts whether it be Rachel Maddow or Leo Laporte or Noam Chomsky, probably the last of our lifetime’s  greatest thinkers. I am  extremely contented. But lately, my walks have taken a surprising turn.

Along the way, I am certainly seeing more of natures wonders , monkeys, families of them staring up at me, a durian tree, and all sorts of plants. More than that I come across patches of the most delectable leaves – the ‘daun kadok’ .  I am drawn to the fragrance of these leaves which is the main ingredient for ‘perut ikan’, ‘otak-otak’ and ‘nasi ulam’. Theses are memories of foods from young, and my favourite amongst them is the ‘nasi ulam’ .  So heres my kind of  pleasant ‘ulam’ surprise.

Besides the ‘daun kadoh’ leaves, there is a host of other herbal plants like ‘daun kesum’, ‘bunga kantan’, ‘daun kunyit’, daun ‘limau perut’, and ‘serai’, all easily available at markets.  And coupled with dried shrimp ‘sambal belacan’ and ‘kerisik’, freshly cut shallots and ‘kunyit’, and cooked rice, you are ready to taste one of the the best traditional Nonya ‘nasi ulam’ from nature. And if you so craved for more protein just add grilled ‘ikan kembong’. Hard to resist!

IMG_1834IMG_1831IMG_1948

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Amazing walks…pleasant surprises..

  1. Thanks Shu, I am encouraged by your comments. This ‘nasi ulam’ is so full of natural goodness that is worth every effort. And yes, when I make it next I will certainly not forget you!

  2. Hello Kim, thanks fir sharing the new discoveries. Yes, goes to show that one is justly rewarded when you stop to smell the roses, so to speak & hear the birds sing!

    Your nasi ulam looks so enticing! Well presented. Look forward to trying it someday?

Leave a comment